Lunching in Ginza

21 02 2015

Was out for a business lunch in the Ginza district the other day with my American guests.  One of us being a vegetarian, was trying to go for tempura and while Ginza is known for its many tempura restaurants I just could not find the right one to reserve because they were either full, didn’t take lunch reservations, too far to walk to, or too pricey.  My alternative was to go to a soba place which often serves good tempura as side dishes.

I was so spot on.

IMG_1413

Tanakaya

My guest's assorted vegetable tempura dish with mostly Japanese vegetables.

My guest’s assorted vegetable tempura dish with mostly Japanese vegetables.

Sashimi for non-vegetarians.

Sashimi for non-vegetarians.

My soba-kakiage set lunch.

My soba-kakiage set lunch.

And they gave us a private room.  And our waitress was super nice.

Tanakaya