Snacking in Saigon

23 09 2015

I love looking at street vendors in different Asian cities I go to but I hardly ever buy from them.

While walking the streets of Saigon, Viet Nam, I thought I smelled something really good and looked around and found the source.

IMG_5581

A lady baking heart-shaped waffles, western style, on charcoal.  I stood close looking down and she gave me a piece to taste.  Mmmmm.  Good.  Very crispy.  She also had a kind of pyramid shaped pancake bites made with the same batter which were softer and bouncy.  Also good.  But tasting a little bit was enough for me.  I wasn’t going to buy a whole bunch.  Then she gave me a small piece of this.

IMG_5582

Excellent paper-thin sliced baked banana and thought this I could manage.  Asked her to sell me one sheet although one set came with three or four sheets of this.  I insisted that I was only willing to take one and told her I could only pay 10,000 VND (less than 50 cents US; I only had much smaller or bigger bills) when she quoted 20,000 VND.  At the end she gave up and took the 10,000.  She clearly didn’t appreciate it and I felt bad but then everything is open to negotiation soooooo…