Riding the Train in Yangon, Part 2

30 11 2016

Continuing from my last post, here is the actual riding part on the Yangon Circular Railway which turned out to be very interesting for me though it probably was just another ordinary day for the locals who were taking it.  The journey lasted good three hours.

My ride

My ride

Was not busy at around 2 pm.

Was not busy at around 2 pm.

I sat across from this who I guessed to be a daughter-mother pair

I sat across from these ladies who I guessed to be a daughter-mother pair

Food vendors of different kinds kept coming and going.

Food vendors of different kinds kept coming and going.

Lots of action on the platform.

Lots of action on the platform.

At first I thought these quail eggs were raw because that's how they are sold in Japan but I think they were boiled as I saw people eating them.

At first I thought these quail eggs were raw because that’s how they are sold in Japan but I think they were boiled as I saw people eating them.

Every now and then the conductor who was never the same person kept coming by to check your ticket.

Every now and then the conductor who was never the same person kept coming by to check your ticket.

The lady sitting next to me at one point bought a bag of apples.  She threw the white nets out the window as soon as she got her apples.

The afore-mentioned daughter-mother pair in a different position after about an hour journey. It's as though the train is their living room, the way they were eating and drinking out of their basket.

The afore-mentioned daughter-mother pair in a different position after about an hour journey. It was as though the train was their living room, the way they were eating and drinking out of their basket.

And then came the watermelon lady with a big tray of pre-cut watermelon on her head. Again the lady sitting next to me wanted a piece.  The watermelon lady sat down, took a piece and cut it into smaller pieces, put them in a plastic bag and handed it to my neighbor and WHAT?! threw the watermelon skin out the window!!

The mother facing outward now.

The mother facing outward now.

More platform scene

More platform scene

Ladies with big bags of vegetables boarded the train at one point.  Seemed that they were vendors that had bought the produce from farmers or a wholesale market for resale.

Thriving businesses on the platform

Back where I started three hours later.

Back where I started three hours later.


Actions

Information

2 responses

5 12 2016
Sophie

What a fun train ride!! Love the mother-daughter pair and the way they are completely relaxed on the train. Shared your blog with my friend who went to Myanmar for a brief trip but never got to Yangon. she hopes to go back some day to do the train ride.

Liked by 1 person

7 12 2016
Ayako Mathies

This was so much fun as my Canadian friend had told me!

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment