Kids of Luang Prabang, Laos

17 04 2016

I did not have direct contact with any of them until the last day when I went on a trip to the “caves” which to me seemed more like a tourist trap though for the Lao people, may not be so, difficult to tell.

Anyway, here they are, kids from and outside Luang Prabang, Laos.

IMG_9690

IMG_9692

The girls above were not as innocent as they may appear to be.  They tried to sell me a bag of old banana chips after deliberately getting on the same boat as me and I said no.  I asked to take a picture of them and they in turn asked for money so I immediately deleted the photo I had just shot of them.  I still wanted a photo of them so suggested that I buy the chips but that they would pose for me as well.  I wouldn’t dare pay them for just being in the photos.  I paid them what they asked for the banana chips which in hindsight was wrong.  I should have negotiated but these things tire me out when I’m on vacation trying to have fun…!!

IMG_9042

A boy at a paper/souvenir store

Young monks crossing the river

Young monks crossing the river

IMG_9199

IMG_9464

IMG_9619

IMG_9627