Exploring Valletta, Part 4

13 05 2017

The day I visited Valletta, Malta the first time on my recent trip to the island country was on Monday, May 1 which was a public holiday.  I saw it was different from an ordinary weekday when I found out (as didn’t check in advance) that the main cathedral was closed.  While carrying on with my exploring of the city of foot, I came across a procession of sort near the Basilica of Our Lady of Mount Carmel which is the signature domed church you see in many photos of Valletta as below though it’s a fairly new church.

I first saw this bagpipe band but didn’t figure out how they were involved in the whole ceremony.

Inside the basilica.

I’ve done many searches but just cannot seem to find out what the ceremony was about…!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

