Arriving in Kaiping

12 02 2017

I had read on many websites especially ones written in Japanese that upon visiting the city of Kaiping, China, as soon as you get off the bus, you will be approached by a driver or drivers that would offer to take you around for the day visiting the Kaiping Diaolous and Villages.

I was concerned that because I was visiting during the Chinese New Year season that maybe these so-called drivers may be off work.  Not so.  As soon as I came out of the bus terminal where my bus from central Guangzhou stopped, sure enough I was approached by one persistent driver.

The Kaiping bus termial

The Kaiping bus termial

The result of my negotiation to hire the driver. I knew it was on the high side but never really liking bargaining except for work when I have to negotiate deals, I accepted this slightly lower price from his original quote. But it's still very high.

The result of my negotiation to hire the driver. I knew it was on the high side but never really liking bargaining except for work when I have to negotiate deals, I accepted this slightly lower price from his original quote. But it’s still very high.

My driver! I was initially sitting in the back but after the first stop, asked to be seated in the front for a better view.

My driver! He seated me in the back but after the first stop, I asked to be seated in the front for a better view.

My ride.

My ride.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

