Visiting the Smekkleysa Record Shop

17 08 2016

Iceland has a population of about 330,000 (Tokyo has 13.5 million) and I personally know a couple of Icelandic people, which does not seem too few given the population, one of whom I knew to be residing in Reykjavik.  I did not tell him I was coming to Iceland but I knew I would be able to contact him had I wished to do so (though he’s not on any social media).

So on the first morning of my stay, I wrote to this site http://smekkleysa.net/, which belongs to record store and label Smekkleysa, founded and run by my friend Ásmundur Jónsson, the original home of the Sugarcubes from which Bjork emerged and said I would be visiting the record store at some point while in Reykjavik.  I ended up going on that day.

IMG_2931

And I found my friend!!

Asi!!

Asi!!

IMG_2935

We decided to get together for lunch on Monday, August 15th.

 

Actions

Information

One response

11 09 2016
Lunching with Asi in Reykjavik | A blog by Ayako Mathies

[…] wrote about my Icelandic friend Asi in an earlier post.  We met up a few days after the first meeting and went out for lunch at the Grillmarkaðurinn or […]

Like

Leave a Reply

