Tamu Kianggeh, the Open Air Market in Bandar Seri Begawan

10 10 2015

There are two main markets in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei, and Tamu Kianggeh is the “day market” as opposed to the other “night market” in the city. I went after lunch, in late afternoon, and most shops were closed, as I was warned.  But it was still fun especially with all the cats going about as they please.

I thought this might the sign for the market but probably not as the name does not match.

I thought this might the sign for the market but probably not as the name does not match.

IMG_5841

The market is across the river from the center of town.

I read that people that live in the "water village" come to Tamu Kianggeh to shop for grocery.

I read that people that live in the “water village” come to Tamu Kianggeh to shop for grocery.

There are a few eateries in the market, all closed the time of my visit.

There are a few eateries in the market, all closed the time of my visit.

An ideal life

An ideal life

Actions

Information

One response

11 10 2015
Monkeys of Bandar Seri Begawan | A blog by Ayako Mathies

[…] There were cats and dogs and there were monkeys in Bandar Seri Begawan.  I encountered these guys next to this market. […]

Like

Leave a Reply

