Bulgarian Pastry

30 08 2015

I thought that a Bulgarian pastry was what I had bought at this boulangerie in Sofia, Bulgaria.  What I wanted to get was “banitsa“, a Bulgarian filo pastry. While writing this post, I’ve come to a realization that that may not have been what I got.  They look too different from the banitsas I see on the web…

IMG_4900

IMG_4901

IMG_4902

IMG_4903

So the establishment is called “Patiesserie de Provence” and its website implies that it’s all French at least visually to me.  Did I get a French pastry?  I don’t think so.  Pictures of “banitsa” I have found on the web do not look like what I had though.

IMG_4909

IMG_4910

From the bag I could tell that this was the company that owned and/or ran the boulangerie.

I liked what I had in any event but any clue anyone…

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 09 2015
Food,Photography & France

Never seen anything like this…certainly not French:)

Liked by 1 person

1 09 2015
Ayako Mathies

Descriptions I read on “banitsa” do tell me that what I had was that but I cannot find any visual image to back this up. Frustrating!

Like

6 09 2015
thefolia

Vive la boulangerie! Happy feasting.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

