Lunching in Sofia #5

15 08 2015

For my final lunch in Sofia, Bulgaria, I thought I had made the perfect plan of checking out of apartment, taking my luggage to a lovely-looking restaurant in the direction of the airport but not far from apartment, have a leisurely lunch, and head out to airport to catch my flight to Paris.  But just to make sure so as not to repeat the mistake of a couple of days prior, I had e-mailed the restaurant the night before and when I did not get a response, called them after 12 noon on the day.  Um.  No response.  No one picked up.  My Plan A was once again shattered.

I had to decide quickly what to do in addition to canceling the taxi I had ordered and negotiating with apartment people to hold my luggage a little longer.

I ended up choosing a hotel restaurant the cafe section of which I had almost gone into earlier in the week.

Turned out to be the right choice.  Phew.

The hotel is on the same square as the The Ivan Vazov National Theatre.

The hotel is on the same square as the The Ivan Vazov National Theatre.

Sat down to a glass of local Riesling as recommended by my waiter. Very nice.

Sat down to a glass of local Riesling as recommended by my waiter. Refreshing.

IMG_5001

Lovely lovely

My giuvech, Bulgarian lamb stew, very nicely done.

My guvec, Bulgarian lamb stew, very nicely done.

Local Cabernet Sauvignon

Local Cabernet Sauvignon

IMG_5008

IMG_5010

Shades of Red Restaurant at Grand Hotel 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

