Cherry Blossoms 2015

6 04 2015

They came a bit early this year in Tokyo and as soon as we started seeing the trees with blossoming flowers, they went into full bloom when the temperature shot up not giving much advance warning for me to plan when and where to see the cherry blossoms this season.

My first real opportunity was when I was driving along the moat of the Imperial Palace on the Hanzomon side (far left on the map) on a Monday afternoon when I took the day off from work.  It was March 30th.

As seen from my car while driving along the Sotobori Dori in Hanzomon.

As seen from my car while driving along the Sotobori Dori in Hanzomon.

Again taken from my driver's seat in front of the British Embassy.

Again taken from my driver’s seat in front of the British Embassy in Hanzomon.

Ditto

Ditto

And then the following day, knowing that it was going to be the last opportunity because of the imminent change in the weather, I decided to take time to walk in the Aoyama Cemetery where I knew it was going to be beautiful.

 

IMG_2061

IMG_2063

IMG_2066

IMG_2069

IMG_2070

IMG_2071

IMG_2072

IMG_2074

IMG_2075

IMG_2078

IMG_2080

Definitely the best season to be in Japan.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 04 2015
Fran

Beautiful – there’s nothing like cherry blossom season in Japan.

Like

7 04 2015
Ayako Mathies

We were blessed with the weather this year – very warm and sunny and not much wind while the flowers lasted. Love this season.

Like

Leave a Reply

