Drinking in the Philippines

8 01 2015

Some alcoholic, some non.  It was not easy buying beer in the Philippines (or maybe it was just in Vigan where I went after Manila?) during the day.  I was told at two hotel restaurants with bars that they could not serve me alcohol until 5 and 6 pm respectively.  It wasn’t even a Sunday…

My Manila hotel was equipped with a kitchen so my initial plan was to eat breakfast in the room but having arrived quite late in the evening, did not have the energy to go grocery shopping.  It was a short stay as well so decided breakfasting out was the way to go.

My Manila hotel was equipped with a kitchennette so my initial plan was to eat breakfast in the room but having arrived quite late in the evening, did not have the energy to go grocery shopping. It was a short stay as well so decided breakfasting out was the way to go.

@ the first breakfast in a museum cafe

@ the first breakfast in a museum cafe

After a long walk and traveling on the train, a cold draft was called for.  At the Peninsula Hotel.

After a long walk in considerable heat and traveling on the train, a cold draft was called for. At the Peninsula Hotel.

What I bought at Duty Free at Narita.  This was the only red wine that came with a screw cap for easy opening in my hotel room.

What I bought at Duty Free at Narita. This was the only red wine that came with a screw cap for easy opening in my hotel room.

@ breakfast on the second morning in Manila.  Very good cappuccino

@ breakfast on the second morning in Manila. Very good cappuccino

Late lunch in a shopping mall in Manila

Late lunch in a shopping mall in Manila

@ the airport traveling from Manila to Laoag.  There was NO restaurant that served alcohol in the departure terminal.  Bought the only beer available from a vendor selling snacks.

@ the airport traveling from Manila to Laoag. Unbelievably there was NO restaurant that served alcohol in the departure hall. Bought the only beer available from a vendor selling snacks.

Breakfasting @ hotel in Vigan.  The coffee was served sweet.

Breakfasting @ hotel in Vigan. The coffee was served sweet.

In a cafe/restaurant in Vigan at lunch time.  After visiting two hotel restaurants with no beer, I ended up at this popular cafe.  The ice is for beer though it was cold enough.

In a cafe/restaurant in Vigan at lunch time. After visiting two hotel restaurants with no beer, I ended up at this popular cafe. The ice is for beer though it was cold enough.

I picked this up from what seemed like the sole liquor store in Vigan thinking I would drink it back at the hotel while I worked on my computer.  But on the way back, I passed by a local empanada shop and the very nice shop lady said I could drink my beer in her outdoor restaurant so I stayed for what seemed like a second lunch.

I picked this up from what seemed like the sole liquor store in Vigan thinking I would drink it back at the hotel while I worked on my computer. But on the way back, I passed by a local empanada shop and the very nice shop lady said I could drink my beer in her outdoor restaurant so I stayed for what turned out to be a second lunch.

Something else I picked up at the liquor store - the smallest bottle of red I could find.  I thought I would need it during my long bus journey from Vigan to Laoag Airport.  The bus was rather crowded so I waited until I got to the airport.  (And a lot more happened before making it to the airport which I will write about later).

Something else I picked up at the liquor store – the smallest bottle of red I could find. I thought I would need it during my long bus journey from Vigan to Laoag to catch my flight back to Manila. The bus was rather crowded so I waited until I got to the airport. (And a lot more happened before making it to the airport which I will write about later).

Actions

Information

4 responses

9 01 2015
Sophie

Wouldn’t have thought it would be so difficult to find alcohol sold during the day in the Philippines, esp at the hotels… or maybe Vigan is very Catholic.
Funny to read about your little exploratory search…

Like

9 01 2015
Ayako Mathies

It was hot with the sun glaring and I had walked a lot and in need of beer. At the first hotel restaurant I sat down at a table w/o asking if they served any beer but quickly remembered that that was what I most wanted and that the food was secondary. When they brought the menu I popped the question and was told NO… The horror… ( ̄o ̄;)

Like

10 01 2015
Jody and Ken

I like your discerning judgment of wine based on whether it had a screw-top. You never know what you’ll find in the bottle if they close it by shoving an old cork in there. 🙂 Happy New Year! Ken

Like

10 01 2015
Ayako Mathies

Haha. My decision was based on a more practical point: what if my hotel kitchenette did not have a cork screw right at the moment when I wanted to have wine and I had to send for it?! I’d be agonized. 😉 Happy new year!!

Like

Leave a Reply

