Lunching in Manila

7 01 2015

I had two lunch opportunities during my stay in Manila and I wanted to try something local.  I, however, had not done enough homework to quite know what was typical and wha the must-haves were given the limited time but they turned out OK.

The first lunch I had was in a very local, definitely-not-meant-for-tourists eatery directly below the LRT Central Terminal Station.  I stopped by because it was well past the lunch hour and I wanted to eat before returning to my more upscale neighborhood of my hotel.

IMG_0516

IMG_0518

IMG_0515

IMG_0514

I think what I had was Philippine adobo with pork.  Not bad but a bit too vinegary for me.

The following day, I stayed in my hotel neighborhood and found this restaurant in one of the more posh shopping malls.

IMG_0578

And was able to sample the ultimate Filipino comfort food, sizzling sisig, along with a local beer.

IMG_0575

IMG_0576

IMG_0577

Rather oily but tasty.  It’s not the same thing but it reminded me of a local Tokyo dish called “monjayaki” which can be had as a meal or a snack (originally said to be a snack).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

