The House on the Lake

22 09 2014

Wannsee, where I was staying while in Berlin, Germany, is a beautiful lake district (see is “lake” in German) and my friend with whom I was staying lives right on the Grosser Wannsee, the big lake, and quite literally ON the water as you will see below.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Antje leading way to her house.

Almost there

Almost there

I see the door.

I see the door.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

It’s difficult to tell from this picture but you have to hop over the water to enter the house which is lower than where you are standing and I had trouble doing it by myself.

The Berlin bear

The Berlin bear. This was already occupying the space when Antje moved about a year ago. She told me it’s a way for people to figure out which pier you’re supposed to return to.

I may get used to it if I actually lived here and walked it everyday but the narrow passage to the house with no handrail or anything is quite scary.  I would not want to walk it in the dark and when drunk. ^^

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 09 2014
A Very Good Morning in Wannsee, Berlin | A blog by Ayako Mathies

[…] just for one night which was a shame but it was all the more reason to enjoy the one morning on the boat and breakfast being cooked by a friend. […]

Like

19 06 2016
Dining in Berlin with Antje | A blog by Ayako Mathies

[…] is one of my very good friends I met through work years ago.  She lives in Berlin and I visited her a couple of summers back while on […]

Like

Leave a Reply

