Sunday Cooking Time

29 06 2014

Since I am going out tonight, I thought I would do something easy for lunch this Sunday.  “Something easy” for me in a lot of cases would be when I don’t have to use heat to cook.  This was one of those recipes.

It's lunch but it's Sunday. ^^

It’s lunch but it’s Sunday. ^^

It's a salad kind of dish that is Japanese-Chinese.

It’s a salad kind of dish that is Japanese-Chinese.

The recipe didn't say I had to use fresh wasabi but I did anyway.

The recipe didn’t say I had to use fresh wasabi but I did anyway.

Nice!  Should probably have it chilled.

Nice! Should probably have it chilled.

The recipe is by Wu Wen originally from Beijing now residing in Tokyo and who has been successfully writing cookbooks in Japanese and promoting her line of cooking products.  This one was published on the Asahi Shimbun.

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 07 2014
Shanna Koenigsdorf Ward

Yes to champagne for Sunday lunch! 🙂 This dish looks gorgeous, flavorful and vibrant. We can’t find fresh wasabi in grocery stores here, just in the paste – I wonder what it tastes like!

Like

1 07 2014
Ayako Mathies

Fresh wasabi is lovely with sweetness and spiciness delicately mixed together and I did not fully appreciate it until I brought it as a gift on my recent trip to Boston (as you may know as you follow Ken and Jody). Now I look forward to using it daily. (It is still quite precious so I shouldn’t go overboard!)

Like

2 07 2014
Shanna Koenigsdorf Ward

All things in moderation. I am still learning restraint while cooking. 🙂

Like

Leave a Reply

