Brimmer and May

26 05 2014

It appears that the school is now called “Brimmer and May School” rather than “Brimmer and May” w/o “School” as it was known when I attended it.  (No big deal but it just sounds very different.)  I loved my small school with only 10 girls (now co-ed but it was a girls’ school then from the sixth grade upwards) in the whole of sixth grade and being the first “foreigner” to be enrolled.  I have only good memories and am thankful for the education, especially in teaching me how to speak and write English, it gave me.

I visited the school in Chestnut Hill on my recent trip to Boston.

IMG_7179

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

IMG_7171

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

I found this plaque on "Barbara Shoolman" in one of the buildings.  At first I had trouble remembering who she was but soon figured out that she was my English tutor who taught me privately, one-on-one, the English language from the start and how to communicate in it.  Ever so thankful.

I found this plaque on “Barbara Shoolman” in one of the buildings. At first I had trouble remembering who she was but soon figured out that she was my English tutor who taught me privately, one-on-one, the English language from the start and how to communicate in it. Ever so thankful.

From the '77 year book.

From the ’77 year book.

