Lunching in Macau, Day 2

10 04 2014

I debated very hard what to eat for lunch on my second day in Macau.  I wanted to try more of the local noodles but was also curious about the “pork chop bun” I kept reading about as the most popular snack.  I decided to go for the “pork chop bun”.

 

I read that the locals bought their pork chop buns here but there was no sign anywhere indicating that it was on sale.

I read in my Japanese guidebook that the locals bought their pork chop buns here but there was no sign anywhere indicating that it was on sale.

So I inquired within.

So I inquired within. And while posting this photo, I only came to realize now that this huge object displayed in the store front may have been a mock “pork chop bun”. I initially thought it was a bad imitation of a croissant.

It was served in a brown paper bag.

It was served in a brown paper bag.

And I was imagining something more complicated with a sauce.  It was just regular bread buns and a pork cutlet sort of thing.

And I was imagining something more complicated with a sauce. It was just regular bread buns and a fried pork chop (came properly with a bone).

The bread was nothing too thrilling and neither was the pork but it did have a very garlicky tasty flavor which I didn’t mind.  Would I buy it again?  No, I don’t think so but my curiosity has been satisfied so mission accomplished.

Actions

Information

One response

15 04 2014
Street Foods in Macau | A blog by Ayako Mathies

[…] that I mean real street food, the kind sold at outdoor stalls and not even the “pork chop bun” I […]

Like

Leave a Reply

