Malaccan Sweets

13 01 2014

I had read about so many “sweets” I was tempted to try in my guidebooks on Malacca but I knew that given the limited number of days available to me, I was not going to be able to try most of them.

I did stop by this shop three times to make sure that I was getting what I wanted to take home for myself.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

They let you sample most of the baked goods and this girl is cutting some tarts into small pieces.

They let you sample most of the baked goods and this girl is cutting up the pineapple tarts into small pieces.

IMG_4144

IMG_4145

IMG_4146

IMG_4147

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

IMG_4179

What I brought home.

IMG_4181

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 01 2014
Jody and Ken

What?! No durian? I like all of the photos, but the house fronts and the gravestones are my favs. Ken

Like

16 01 2014
Ayako Mathies

I did bring home chocolates with durian praline for the office. People were at first staying away from them just by looking at the suggestive box but soon found out that they did not actually smell and were good chocolates. 😀

Like

16 01 2014
Jody and Ken

We only get durians in the US that have been previously frozen, which kills the smell. They’re still tasty, but someday I’d like the full on experience. Ken

Like

16 01 2014
Ayako Mathies

They don’t really smell when you eat the fruit. I think it’s really the skin and when you have it as a whole, though that didn’t even smell when I was offered very fresh, just off the tree ones in a village in Yunnan in China.

My hotel in Malacca prohibited people from bringing in durians!

Like

Leave a Reply

