Eating in Malacca: the Famous Chicken Rice Balls

5 01 2014

I associate “chicken rice” with Singapore.  We have good Singaporian restaurants in Tokyo that serve superb Hainanese chicken rice.  I didn’t know Malaysia was also very much the land of Hainanese chicken rice (I think Singapore advertises more) and that in Malacca, the chicken rice was made into “balls”.

The chicken rice ball dish I had.

The chicken rice ball dish I had.

I initially thought of going to this popular restaurant for the chicken dish but decided against it after seeing how people were lined up to get in.

I went to a more local one, quite close to my hotel.

Heng Hainaese Chicken Rice Balls

Heng Hainaese Chicken Rice Balls

The chicken was great.  I couldn’t tell if I was getting the rather sour taste from the rice balls or the sauce so asked one of the guys.  He said they add lemon to the sauce so that’s where the sourness comes from.  OK, I could do with less of it but for RM 3.50 (a bit more than US$1), I couldn’t complain. 😀

Heng Hainanese Chicken Rice Balls

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

