A Tea Break in Malacca

30 12 2013

On my first day of walking in and exploring Malacca, I was intrigued by this “tea”.  I don’t normally do tea or coffee breaks and tend to keep going until lunch or later to just go for the “drinks” but this caught my attention partly because years ago I was in Bangkok with my Thai friend who bought a bottle of cold black herbal drink sold in a Coke bottle at a big outdoors weekend market and told me it had a “cooling effect”.  Wondered if this was the same and tried it.  It was called “Herbal 24 Cooling Tea” and it’s a cold drink.  The “24” is probably the same as what is explained here.  As I was told, it was bitter.  As for the cooling effect, not sure.  It wasn’t that hot to start with though humid enough to be unpleasant.  I liked the drink. 😀

IMG_8845

I had the “24” herbal tea which was bitter. The “5” tea is supposed to be sweet.

My tea didn't come out of either of these pots but this is the store front.

My tea didn’t come out of either of these pots but this is the store front.

There is seating area behind the big pots.  It was good to sit down and get some rest.

There is seating area behind the big pots. It was good to sit down and get some rest.

Halle Herbal Tea House

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

